A New Year dawns and while not promising to post every day I will be attempting to post weekly at the very least.
This year holds much as I plan my transition to Den Haag on or around January 17th….

Having visited the city now on two occasions I can confirm that it has an amazingly positive vibe and I am looking forward very much to getting under the skin of the city.
My first piece of advice to anyone looking to move to The Netherlands on a permanent basis would be to ensure that you have your important documents ( Birth Certificate, Marriage/Divorce Certificates) apostilled prior to leaving your own country. This is required by the local authority with whom you are required to register for your BSN or SOFI Number within days of your arrival. Also required are your job contract and proof of residence ( rental agreement etc). You will need to set up this meeting at your local Town Hall ahead of time, in addition you should arrange for a meeting with a Dutch Bank in order to set up an account into which your salary will be required to be paid.
I will report on these meetings closer to the time that I attend.

